Distinguished Author Series

Distinguished Author Series banner

The Thinkers

The Santa Clara County Library District is proud to announce a four-part, virtual author series beginning in April. The Distinguished Author Series brings together great authors who spark new thoughts, ideas and deep discussion.

Delve into the minds of Dr. Robert Sapolsky, Jaron Lanier, Joyce Carol Oates and Jhumpa Lahiri to explore topics of the biology of stress and related diseases, the impact of technology on present lives and the future, and immigration.

All events are free, held online, and open to the public.

Past Programs

Dr. Robert Sapolsky

Science and Nature Writer, Biologist and Neuroscientist and Stress Expert

Stanford Professor Dr. Robert Sapolsky is a biologist, neuroscientist and stress expert. He lectures diverse topics such as stress and its diseases, the biology of our individuality, and living amongst baboons. His unique perspective on the human condition comes from his years working in the field and the findings of his research as a neuroscientist. His notable works include Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers (1994), A Primate’s Memoir (2002) and Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst (2017).

Virtual Author Visit with Dr. Robert Sapolsky
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 @ 7:00 pm

Jaron Lanier

Scientist, Musician, Visual Artist and Author

Jaron Lanier is considered a Renaissance Man for the 21st Century for his work as a computer scientist, composer, visual artist and author. Writing on topics including high-technology business, the social impact of technology, Internet politics and the future of humanism, Lanier has been on the cusp of technical innovation from its infancy to the present and was a pioneer of virtual reality (a term he coined). Notable works include Who Owns the Future? (2013) and Ten Arguments for Deleting your Social Media Accounts Right Now (2018).

Virtual Author Visit with Jaron Lanier
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 @ 7:00 pm

Joyce Carol Oates

Award-Winning Novelist, Poet, Playwright and Essayist

Versatile and accomplished author Joyce Carol Oates has penned bestselling novels, critically acclaimed collections of short fiction, essays, plays and a memoir. Several of her stories have been adapted to films or television. Her writing has earned awards such as the National Book Award, O. Henry Awards, the National Humanities Medal and the Jerusalem Prize. Notable works include We Were the Mulvaneys (1996), The Falls (2004), Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars (2020) and The (Other) You (2021).

Virtual Author Visit with Joyce Carol Oates
Saturday, May 8, 2021 @ 3:00 pm

Jhumpa Lahiri

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Short Story Writer and Novelist

Jhumpa Lahiri received the Pulitzer Prize in 2000 for Interpreter of Maladies, her debut story collection that explores issues of love and identity among immigrants and cultural transplants. Her novel, The Namesake (2003), also received great acclaim, expanding the perplexities of the immigrant experience and search for identity. She was awarded the National Humanities Medal, the PEN/Hemingway Award and an O. Henry Prize, among others. See some of Jhumpa Lahiri's works.

Virtual Author Visit with Jhumpa Lahiri
Saturday, May 22, 2021 @ 3:00 pm

Thank you, supporters, for your generosity to make the Distinguished Author Series possible.


Back to Top